U.S. renews participation in 5-nation fish conservation effort

State Department officials recently confirmed renewed participation of a U.S. advisory panel for another two years to the North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission (NPAFC), a five-nation consortium focusing on fish conservation efforts.

NPAFC, whose member nations are the U.S., Canada, Japan, the Republic of Korea and the Russian Federation, promotes conservation of anadromous fish, defined as species that migrate up rivers from the sea to spawn in freshwater. Common anadromous fish include salmon, shad, striped bass and sturgeon, a State Department release said.

The U.S. advisory panel, comprising 14 members, is authorized to continue supporting and encouraging fish conservation by the organization.

Advisory panel members work under the direction of three commissioners who are appointed by the president. 

Organizations in this Story

U.S. State Department

Get notified the next time we write about U.S. State Department!